Photo via UAR.

Raúl Pérez, coach of the newly minted Argentine rugby franchise Los Jaguares, today named the historic first team to play in its Super Rugby debut this Friday.

The Buenos Aires-based Jaguares will play their first competition match in Bloemfontein, South Africa against hosts Central Cheetahs, in what is gearing up to be a vicious cat fight — claws out.

For those out of the loop, the Super Rugby tournament began in 1993 and was initially called the Super 10, fielding teams from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. This year, for the first time, Super Rugby will feature countries outside of these nations, the traditional powerhouses of international rugby.

The tournament was renamed this year to the Super 18 as Japan and Argentina will seek to make a name for themselves in Super Rugby.

The brand new Japanese Sun Wolves feature a samurai crew of fast runners and big hitters, many of whom played in the greatest Rugby World Cup shock ever: Japan’s 34-32 victory over South Africa.

Los Jaguares were admitted into the Super Rugby tournament following the excellent performance of the Argentine National Team, Los Pumas, over the past five years and campaigning from the Argentine Rugby Union (UAR). Los Pumas have fared well in Rugby World Cup tournaments, placing 3rd in 2011 and 4th in 2015. They are currently ranked 5th in World Rugby rankings.

Los Jaguares played two warm up matches in South Africa over the past two weeks, first losing 14-29 to the Cape Town Stormers before defeating the Johannesburg Lions 49-28.

Friday’s debut will be the first big test for Los Jaguares, who are going up against world-class franchises that have existed for over 20 years. However, they have a great selection of players from Los Pumas to bolster their ranks, such as Agustin Creevy, Nicolas Sanchez and Santiago Cordero.

Los Jaguares debut this Friday at 1:30PM Buenos Aires time. You can watch the match on ESPN2, ESPN+e ESPN Play and keep up to date with the team at